Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 19th, 2008

Quick White Beans with Tomatoes and Sage

A few weeks ago, when my husband and I dined at my parents’ house, my dad served us an amazing dish of broiled halibut over white beans with tomatoes, garlic, and basil.  Wow!  It was so good.  As much as I like halibut, I couldn’t get over the beans.  I drooled over them in my sleep.  Thus, it was only a matter of time until I made them myself.  My opportunity arose last night, and, as always, I made a few modifications.  The most obvious alteration is my substitution of fresh sage for the basil.  I had a bunch left over from making my turkey breakfast sausage (you can see the recipe here), and sage is just too good to waste!  So I decided to experiment a little.  The results were awesome.  I can’t really pick a favorite between the basil and the sage.  They’re equally great. 

You can find the original recipe here, but if you’d like to know how I prepared it, check out the recipe below.  It’s fast, flavorful, and healthy.  What’s not to like?  I ate this as my main dish last night with some cultured vegetables and a huge green salad on the side (check out healthy dressing recipes here).  The beans would also make an excellent side dish.  In addition, although they’re great piping hot, they would would make a great cold bean salad.  In that case, I would choose cannellini beans, which are firmer and will hold their shape better than great northern beans.  And there’s always the option of cooking your own beans, but then you’d have to delete “quick” from the recipe title.
 

Quick White Beans with Tomatoes and Sage

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup sliced green onions
4 large garlic cloves, minced
3 cups chopped fresh tomatoes
1 can (~15 ounces) great northern or cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
2 teaspoons raw, unfiltered apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup chopped fresh sage leaves (try fresh basil sometime instead)
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
lots of freshly ground black pepper

Heat oil in a saute pan over medium heat.  Add the green onions and garlic and cook for 2 minutes, until soft but not browned.  Toss in the tomatoes, turn up the heat a bit, and cook for 4 minutes.  Finally, stir in the beans, vinegar, sage, salt, and black pepper.  Bring to a boil, cook for 1 minute, taste and adjust seasonings, and serve.  How easy is that?

Note:  Regular readers may note that I usually cook with coconut oil.  In this case, I couldn’t resist the flavor of olive oil.  I rationalized by telling myself that since the pan is only over medium heat, it doesn’t matter.

Read Full Post »