Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 4th, 2008

Oh, the Shame

A tale of woe from my kitchen:

On Monday, which was Labor Day here in the States, Justice and I had a couple over for lunch.  I planned well by putting tried and true dishes on the menu: Grilled Turkey Burgers with Dijon-Dill Sauce, Carrot Salad in Basil Vinaigrette, steamed green beans, and mashed red potatoes.  I’ve made these dishes so often, I could probably do it in my sleep.  What could go wrong?

Two things, it turns out.  First, I didn’t count on the ground turkey I ordered from my meat co-op having the consistency of a sponge.  Really, it was sponge-like, rather than meat-like.  Think McDonald’s chicken nuggets consistency, maybe even worse.  Ugh.  Second, I didn’t count on the turkey burgers being undercooked.  I still don’t know how this happened!  We set the grill to the same setting as usual and cooked the burgers the standard length of time.  Thus, I didn’t bother to check for doneness because I knew from experience that they were. 

I was so wrong.

After one bite at lunch, I thought, Oh no.  Then I took another bite.  Oooooh no!  For some reason, it seemed best to me at the time not to say anything.  Maybe I’m the only one who notices anything is amiss, I thought.  Perhaps if I don’t call their attention to it, they won’t notice.  As if.  What was I thinking?!  Why didn’t I burst out laughing and tell them not to eat the meat because I couldn’t eat it either? 

Augh.  So here I am…still thinking about the darn meat three days later.  Maybe I’ll call them.

One thing’s for sure: I’m not ordering more of that ground turkey.

Read Full Post »